HSJ Awards Logo
Accessable Accessibility Information

News and Events

Hospital Governor election results

During May the ROH conducted two sets of governor elections.

Stella Noon recently completed her third term of office as a Governor (the maximum number of terms permitted). Stella was a Governor in the Rest of England and Wales constituency as is Rob Talboys, whose second term of office had also come to an end. Six candidates stood in that election and Rob was elected for a second term of office.

Brian Toner was the other successful candidate. In his election statement, Brian explained that he considered the Trust’s paramount goal is to deliver high quality health care, whilst responding to today’s economic demand. Having twice been a patient at the ROH, he had been hugely impressed by the professionalism of the staff and the care he had received and was happy to become a member and subsequently keen to become a Governor, and give something back. Brian believes that quality services are delivered by committed staff, supported by a strong governance foundation, including feedback from service users. Equally, strategic direction needs to be developed through genuine stakeholder engagement and he believed that his experience as a patient; health service background; work with charities and his involvement with the Care Quality Commission would enable him to make a positive contribution as a Governor to the Trust’s success and ongoing development.

Jean Rookes who is one of our Public Governors had completed her first term of office and stood for re-election in the Birmingham and Solihull constituency. Five high quality candidates stood in this election and Jean was re-elected for a second term.

The ROH has a number of Stakeholder Governors and recently Cllr Peter Griffiths was nominated by Birmingham City Council to become their stakeholder representative. We would like to congratulate Rob and Jean on their re-election and welcome Brian and Peter to the ROH Council of Governors. Staff governor elections are due be held in the next couple of months, so please do watch out for more information about this.

Our Governing body now comprises:

Rest of England & Wales constituency:
Alan Last (Lead Governor), Carol Cullimore, Rob Talboys and Brian Toner

Birmingham & Solihull constituency:
Sue Arnott, Marion Betteridge, Petro Nicolaides, Jean Rookes and Tony Thomas

Non-clinical staff governors:
Alex Gilder and Sue Lococo

Clinical staff governors:
Ronan Treacy and Karen Hughes

Stakeholder governors:
Richard Burden, MP; Councillor Peter Griffiths (Birmingham City Council), Paul Sabapathy (Bournville Village Trust). At present there is no stakeholder governor from the University of Birmingham or Birmingham City University.