HSJ Awards Logo
Accessable Accessibility Information

News and Events

Staff Awards 2020 Winners

Celebrating our Leading Lights
Our annual Leading Lights staff awards ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate care and compassion at The Royal Orthopaedic Hospital. Our teams deliver life-changing care everyday and we think it's important to mark this contribution. This year we celebrated in style at the Birmingham Botanical Gardens, bringing together 300 amazing NHS professionals on 7 February 2020 for a very special night. 

About the awards
Following a period of nominations open to staff and members of the public, a shortlist is created and nominees and nominators are invited to attend our marquee event of the year. Awards are given out across professions and in line with out Trust values. Each winner is picked by a panel of judges from across the Trust, including patient representation. 

This event is made possible by generous sponsorship from organisations and individuals:

If you are interested in working with us as a sponsor, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Nominations for the Leading Lights Awards 2021 will open this September, so please get involved in the 2020/21 nominations process.

Nurse of the Year
Helen Hartshorn-Jones, with presenter Stella Noon, Chair of the Patient and Carers Forum
Trust Values Recognition Award - Compassion
Gayle Kwidini, with presenter Stella Noon
Doctor/Clinician of the Year
Dr Rajesh Botchu, with presenter Matt Revell, Executive Medical Director
Clinical Support Worker of the Year
Sheila Frost, with presenter Yvonne Scott, representative from the Patient and Carers Forum
Outstanding Contribution to Patient Experience
Ward 1
Trust Values Recognition Award - Openness
Clare Hinwood, with presenter Richard Phillips, Non-Executive Director
AHP of the Year
Sandra Milward, with presenter Steve Washbourne, Director of Finance
Corporate Services Employee of the Year
Julie Taylor, with presenter Kathryn Sallah, Non-Executive Director
Secretarial/Administration Support of the Year
Laur Byrne, with presenter Marie Pelow, Chief Operating Officer
Support Service Employee of the Year
Tracey Mitchell, with presenter Garry Marsh, Executive Director of Nursing and Clinical Governance
Trust Values Recognition Award - Pride
Sandra Crook with presenter David Gourevitch, Non-Executive Director
Volunteer of the Year
Andrea Galloway with presenter Dame Yve Buckland, Chair
Apprentice/Student of the Year
Bradley Redden and Harry Rutter (Naomi Newhill not pictured) with presenter Ayodele Ajose, Non-Executive Director
Clinical Team Achievement
Non-Clinical Team Achievement Award
Oncology MDT Coordinators
Trust Values Recognition Award - Respect
Innovation and Continuous Improvement Award
Mr Mike Parry with representatives from DrDoctor
Leadership Achievement of the Year
Karen Hughes with presenter Alex Moody, Associate Director of HR, Workforce and OD
Chair and Governors Award for Engagement
Nathan Samuels with presenter Brian Toner, Lead Governor
Outstanding Contribution Award
Mr David Dunlop with presenter Jo Williams, Chief Executive
Trust Values Recognition Award - Excellence
Communications Team with presenter Jo Williams